High Ability

The Valparaiso Community School Corporation follows the Indiana Code for defining high ability students.  High ability students are individuals from different cultural, ethnic, and socioeconomic groups who perform, or show the potential to perform, at an outstanding level of accomplishment in at least one domain when compared to other students of the same age, expertise, or environment. (IC 20-36-1-3).

Valparaiso Community Schools Identification Plan

Elementary

All students in Grades K,2, and 5 are all administered the CoGAT Assessment.  Students who score in the top 25% are then given additional CoGAT assessments.  From those assessments, any student who scores in the 8th or 9th stanine is identified as a high ability student.  In addition to the CoGAT Assessment, all students in grades 1st-5th are given the NWEA Assessment.  Students who score at or above the 96th percentile are identified as a high ability student.

Secondary

At the secondary level, students in grades 6-8 are administered the NWEA Assessment.  Any student who scores at or above the 96th percentile is identified as a high ability student.  In addition to this assessment, many other factors are included in identifying our students (ie. teacher recommendation, standardized assessment scores, previous classes taken, etc.).

High Ability Contacts

Name School Position Email
John Miller Valparaiso High School Assistant Principal/High Ability Coordinator johnmiller@valpo.k12.in.us
Erin Hawkins  Flint Lake Elementary  Principal ehawkins@valpo.k12.in.us
Jasmin Aurand Central Elementary  Kindergarten jaurand@valpo.k12.in.us
Nina Erler Cooks Corners Elementary 5th Grade nerler@valpo.k12.in.us
Erin Blumenthal Heavilin Elementary 3rdd Grade eblumenthal@valpo.k12.in.us
Annamarie Brady Cooks Corners Elementary 5th Grade abrady@valpo.k12.in.us
Jen Hoefler Memorial Elementary 1st Grade jhoefler@valpo.k12.in.us
Traci Coil Heavilin Elementary 3rd Grade tcoil@valpo.k12.in.us
Sam Ostafinski Heavilin Elementary 1st Grade sostafinski@valpo.k12.in.us
Amanda Strietelmeier Heavilin Elementary Kindergarten astrietelmeier@valpo.k12.in.us
 Courtney Smith Northview Elementary  5th Grade cmith@valpo.k12.in.us